Conservative Martin Vickers sees off Labour to win Cleethorpes for third time

This story is over

Conservative candidate Martin Vickers has retained the Cleethorpes constituency seat.

Vickers repeated his success over Labour candidate Peter Keith, who finished in second place, 10,400 votes behind.

The part-rural, part-urban seat in the north of the county was a Labour stronghold under the leadership of Tony Blair, with Keith’s wife Shona McIsaac sealing majorities of over 9,000 in 1997, more than 5,000 in 2001 and 2,642 in 2005.

However, it has now swung Conservative in three consecutive elections.

UKIP’s Tony Blake finished third, with Roy Horobin from the Liberal Democrats in fourth and Loyd Emmerson from the Green Party in fifth.

Below are the results in full:

  • Martin Vickers (Conservative): 27,321
  • Peter Keith (Labour): 16,921
  • Tony Blake (UKIP): 2,022
  • Roy Horobin (Liberal Democrat): 1,110
  • Loyd Emmerson (Green): 470

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.