South Holland

General election 2017: South Holland and the Deepings MP candidates

This story is over

Six candidates are standing to become the next MP for South Holland and the Deepings in the general election on June 8.

Conservative candidate John Hayes has spent the last two decades as MP for the constituency, and is defending a majority of 18,567.

UKIP, which finished second in the overwhelmingly pro-Brexit seat in 2015, has selected former Lincolnshire County councillor Nicola Jane Smith as its candidate.

Voyteck Kowalewski has been chosen by the Labour Party, which finished in third place at the last general election.

The remaining candidates are Julia Cambridge for the Liberal Democrats, Daniel Wilshire from the Green Party and Independent Rick Stringer.

Candidates in full:

  • Julia Cambridge – Lib Dem
  • John Henry Hayes – Conservative
  • Voyteck Kowalewski – Labour
  • Nicola Jane Smith – UKIP
  • Rick Stringer – Independent
  • Daniel Luke Wilshire – Green

For more information on polling stations and dates for your diary, see the Lincolnshire Reporter guide here. 

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.