General election 2017: Scunthorpe MP candidates

This story is over

Four candidates are standing to become the next MP for Scunthorpe in the general election on June 8.

The Labour Party has won every parliamentary election in the constituency since it was created from the Glanford and Scunthorpe seat in 1997.

However, Labour MP Nic Dakin is defending a majority of 3,134, well within the Conservatives’ sights if current polling plays out as expected next month.

Previous MP Elliot Morley was jailed in 2011 for expenses fraud.

The Conservatives have selected North Lincolnshire councillor Holly Mumby-Croft as their candidate.

Rounding off the list of candidates is Andrew Talliss from UKIP and Ryk Downes from the Liberal Democrats.

Candidates in full:

  • Nic Dakin – Labour
  • Holly Mumby-Croft – Conservative
  • Andrew Talliss – UKIP
  • Ryk Downes – Lib Dem

For more information on polling stations and dates for your diary, see the Lincolnshire Reporter guide here. 

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.