General election 2017: Louth and Horncastle MP candidates

This story is over

Five candidates are standing to become the next MP for Louth and Horncastle in the general election on June 8.

The area is a Conservative stronghold, with former barrister Victoria Atkins defending a majority of 14,977.

Atkins succeeded Peter Tapsell at the 2015 general election.

Tapsell had represented Louth and Horncastle since the seat was created in 1997.

Prior to that, he had been MP for the predecessor seats of East Lindsey and Horncastle from 1966 to 1997, as well as being MP for Nottingham West from 1959 to 1964.

He was the longest-serving Conservative MP and was the Father of the House from 2010.

The closest Labour came to winning the seat was in the 1997 landslide under Tony Blair.

Labour’s candidate this time around is Julie Speed.

Other candidates are Jonathan Noble from UKIP, Liberal Democrat Lisa Gabriel, and the Iconic Arty-Pole of the Official Monster Raving Loony Party.

Candidates in full:

  • The Iconic Arty-Pole – Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Victoria Atkins – Conservative
  • Lisa Marie Gabriel – Lib Dem
  • Jonathan Howard Noble – UKIP
  • Julie Ann Speed – Labour

For more information on polling stations and dates for your diary, see the Lincolnshire Reporter guide here. 

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.