General election 2017: Lincoln MP candidates

This story is over

Seven candidates are standing to become the next MP for Lincoln in the general election on June 8.

Lincoln is the oldest constituency in continuous existence in the United Kingdom, having been established in 1265.

It is also a bellwether seat, having been won by the party forming the government in every election since February 1974.

Conservative Karl McCartney has been the city’s MP since 2010, having defeated Labour’s Gillian Merron in 2010, who had represented the constituency for the previous 13 years.

The seat was represented for five years by the future Cabinet minister Margaret Jackson, later Margaret Beckett.

Take a full look at the candidates standing with their profiles here.

Candidates in full:

  • Phil Gray – Independent
  • Caroline Hilda Kenyon – Lib Dem
  • Karen Elizabeth Lee – Labour
  • Benjamin Jeffrey Leigh Loryman – Green
  • Karl McCartney – Conservative
  • Iain Alexander Scott-Burdon – Independent
  • Nick Smith – UKIP

For more information on polling stations and dates for your diary, see the Lincolnshire Reporter guide here. 

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.