General election 2017: Cleethorpes MP candidates

This story is over

Five candidates are standing to become the next MP for Cleethorpes in the general election on June 8.

Conservative candidate Martin Vickers is seeking a third term as the constituency’s MP, having first won in 2010.

The part-rural, part-urban seat in the north of the county was a Labour stronghold under the leadership of Tony Blair, with Shona McIsaac sealing majorities of over 9,000 in 1997, more than 5,000 in 2001 and 2,642 in 2005.

McIsaac eventually lost by 4,298 votes to Vickers in the 2010 general election, with the Conservative increasing his majority to 7,893 five years later.

Fighting the pro-Brexit Conservative for Labour now is McIsaac’s husband Peter Keith, who was defeated in 2015.

Tony Blake will contest the seat for UKIP, with Roy Horobin standing for the second time for the Liberal Democrats.

Rounding off the list of candidates is the Green Party’s Loyd Layton Emmerson.

Candidates in full:

  • Peter John Keith – Labour
  • Martin Vickers – Conservative
  • Tony Blake – UKIP
  • Roy Horobin – Lib Dem
  • Loyd Layton Emmerson – Green

For more information on polling stations and dates for your diary, see the Lincolnshire Reporter guide here. 

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.