These leading Lincolnshire county councillors are not standing for re-election

This story is over

Many familiar faces in local government are standing down ahead of the Lincolnshire County Council election on May 4.

Group leaders, the council chairman and vastly experienced councillors are among those who will not be in the council chamber for the next four years.

Almost 300 candidates in 70 wards are standing in the election next month.

ALSO SEE: In full: 2017 Lincolnshire County Council election candidates

Perhaps the best-known councillor not seeking re-election is Conservative Marc Jones, who was previously portfolio holder for finance and property, and represented Lincoln Bracebridge.

Jones will now be able to fully concentrate on his role as Lincolnshire Police and Crime Commissioner, a position he has held since May 2016.

The PCC’s deputy Stuart Tweedale, councillor for Ruskington and Cranwell, will also not stand in the county council elections.

Council chairman Thomas Trollope-Bellew, who represents Stamford Rural, is another leading Conservative who will not be a councillor from next month.

Labour group leader John Hough, who has been leader of the opposition since September 2013, will also not contest the election.

Councillor Hough has represented Louth South Division on the county since 2001 and has chaired the Children and Young People Scrutiny Committee.

Lincoln Labour councillors Nev Jackson, Neil Murray and Judith Renshaw will not stand.

Executive councillor for waste and recycling Reg Shore, from the Liberal Democrats, is also not seeking re-election for Skellingthorpe and Hykeham South.

Councillor Shore’s Lib Dem colleague John Marriott has explained his reasons for moving on after 30 years in local government in a column for Lincolnshire Reporter, stating that it was too late for him to make the difference he thought he could have done at the start of his political journey.

Councillor Marriott represented Hykeham Forum on Lincolnshire County Council since 2001.

Group leader Colin Mair, representing Tattershall Castle, and Robin Hunter-Clarke, for Skegness South, are the highest-profile UKIP councillors who will not be returning to the council after May 4.

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.