How Lincolnshire constituencies will change under boundary commission proposals

This story is over

Electoral constituencies across the Greater Lincolnshire region will see a number of changes under initial proposals outlined by the Boundary Commission for England.

The commission was tasked by Parliament with redrawing the boundaries for general elections, reducing the number of constituencies from 650 to 600.

In England, the number of constituencies will reduce from 533 to 501.

In the East Midlands, two of the 46 current constituencies will be lost but none in Lincolnshire.

Humberside, which covers North and North-East Lincolnshire, will see a reduction from 10 constituencies to nine.

What’s changing in Lincolnshire?

Map: Lincolnshire Reporter

Map: Lincolnshire Reporter

Key: Lincolnshire Reporter

Key: Lincolnshire Reporter

The main changes across Greater Lincolnshire will affect the current Sleaford and North Hykeham constituency, Lincoln and the constituencies in North and North-East Lincolnshire.

  • Sleaford and North Hykeham to be renamed Sleaford
  • North Hykeham and Waddington West moved from Sleaford and North Hykeham into extended Lincoln constituency
  • Bracebridge Heath and Waddington East moved from Lincoln to Sleaford
  • Kirkby la Thorpe and South Kyme moved from Sleaford to extended Boston and Skegness constituency
  • Grimsby to be split into two constituencies: Grimsby North and Barton; Grimsby South and Cleethorpes
  • Brigg and Goole to be renamed Goole, consisting of three North Lincolnshire wards including Isle of Axholme
  • Burton upon Stather and Winterton, and Burringham and Gunness to move from Brigg and Goole to extended Scunthorpe constituency
  • Grantham and Stamford and Louth and Horncastle to see minor changes to reflect local government boundaries
  • Gainsborough, and South Holland and the Deepings, to be unchanged

How to get involved

The principle behind the proposals is to create constituencies of a roughly equal size, with similar numbers of electors, while retaining area’s distinctive geography and local character.

A series of public consultation events will now be held over the rest of this year.

The BCE must report to Parliament in 2018 and, if agreed by Parliament, the new constituencies will be in use at the next scheduled general election in 2020.

Sam Hartley, Secretary to the Commission, said: “Today’s proposals mark the first time people get to see what the new map of parliamentary constituencies might look like.

But they are just the commission’s initial thoughts – during the next 12 weeks we want people to take a look and tell us what they like and don’t like about our proposals.

“Parliament has set us tight rules about reducing the number of constituencies, and making them of more equal size, and we now need the views of people around the country to help us shape constituencies that best reflect local areas.”

The easiest way for voters to comment on the proposals is by visiting the BCE’s website.

However, a number of public consultation events are also being held.

Lincoln residents will be able to comment at such an event being held at Bishop Grosseteste University on November 3 and 4.

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.